The correct answer is D. The correct order of events in India’s history is:

I. Mughal officials lose their land and wealth.

II. The Sepoy Rebellion takes place.

III.The East India Company loses control.

IV. The British raj forms and begins to rule.


I- The Mughal Empire dissolved in 1857, but its weakening began several years earlier. Since the late 1700s, the British were exerting enormous economic pressure through the British India East Company. Even in 1803, after failed attempts to secure the authority of the Mughals over their small territory, the Emperor Shah Alam II had to accept the protection of Great Britain (which was tantamount to subjecting himself to British power), since his domain was now reduced to the current states of Punjab, Haryana, and northern Uttar Pradesh. The British did not assume direct government over the Mughal Empire, but they exercised their indirect control and kept the Mughal emperors as mere symbols without effective power.

II- The rebellion of India in 1857 began as a Sepoy Rebellion, carried out by the Indian soldiers of the army of the British East India Company, on May 10, 1857 in the quartering of the town of Meerut.

III- The British East India Company was a privileged company formed in September 1599 by a group of English entrepreneurs with the purpose of engaging in trade with the East Indies, thus ending the monopoly exercised by Dutch companies on the lucrative trade in spices.  

Initially their trips reached Japan, but between 1610 and 1611 they settled with trading establishments called factories in the territory of India, where they came to govern large areas with their own armies, with which they exercised military power and assumed administrative functions. The company’s authority in India effectively began in 1757 after the Battle of Plassey and lasted until 1858, when, after the Indian Rebellion of 1857, the British crown, through the Government of India Act of 1858, assumed the direct control of India in the form of a new British Raj.

IV- The British Raj was instituted on June 28, 1858, when after the Indian rebellion of 1857, the territorial possessions of the British East India Company were transferred to the Crown, then held by Queen Victoria.